Announcing the 2019 J Murphy STEM Scholarship Recipient: Alexis Walters!

Alexis Walters, Memorial High School, Class of 2019

Memorial High School’s 2019 graduates toss their caps this week and look to the future. To make the occasion more tremendous for one Old Abe, the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation is thrilled to announce the 2019 recipient for the J Murphy STEM Scholarship: Alexis Walters. The impactful scholarship established in 2016 with the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, is a unique opportunity available only to Eau Claire Area School District students.

The scholarship was founded by an anonymous donor with family roots in Eau Claire and with an interest in helping women pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, or math (STEM). Each year, one graduating ECASD senior is selected to receive an impactful $10,000 scholarship toward college tuition and fees. Additionally, the scholarship is renewable for up to four years, for a total possible funding of $40,000 per recipient!

Ms. Walters was overjoyed and gracious to earn the J Murphy STEM Scholarship. “I am beyond grateful for this scholarship and the opportunities it will bring me!” she said. Ms. Walters heads from Memorial High School’s halls to the University of Minnesota - Duluth this fall to begin her studies in biochemistry. Her major is a step toward her career in obstetrics and gynecology. Ms. Walters has spent several hours in her senior year observing OBGYNs at Oakleaf Clinic, and has even observed a cesarean section birth, as well as several natural births. She hopes to make a difference in the lives of women and children, sharing “women's health care has plenty of issues to be resolved, and I hope to be a part of the solution.”

Memorial High School biology teacher, Niki Anderson, had glowing remarks of Ms. Walters. In Ms. Anderson’s general and AP biology classes, Alexis “demonstrated an incredible initiative, strong dedication, solid work ethic, and revealed great academic skills and abilities as well as a desire to learn and develop herself as a well-rounded person.”

Dr. Blenda Yun, Foundation board chair, echoed Ms. Anderson’s enthusiasm for Alexis. “Her desire to help women and infants through science embodies the spirit of the J Murphy STEM scholarship.” Dr. Yun went on “we are confident that her spirit and determination will take her far!

The Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation is a supporting organization of the Eau Claire Community Foundation, which serves as a bridge connecting donors with charities in order to improve quality of life in the Eau Claire area. As a non-profit 501(c)3, the ECPSF is dedicated to promoting value-added learning opportunities for students in the Eau Claire Area School District. To learn more about scholarships at the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, or to open your own scholarship fund, please contact Executive Director, Sarah French, at or (715) 852-3015.