2019 Golden Apple Awards a hit!

Third row from left: Lynn Christianson (Northstar), Lindsey Anderson (Putnam), Johna Stern (South), Tricia Kwick (Lakeshore), Heather Bauer (Northwoods), Lisa Pomazal (Robbins). Second row from left: Brad Chapman (Meadowview), Paulette Sampson (North), Julie Becker (Sherman), Nicole Salter (Prairie Ridge), Betsy Lindholm (Montessori), Dustin Hayes (DeLong), Meg Nord (Longfellow), Sue Pisani (Manz). First row from left: Nevada Franz (McKinley), Patty Zwiefelhofer (Memorial), Michelle Richards (Locust Lane), Rachel Schank (Sam Davey), Jeannie Miller (Roosevelt), Heidi Hebert (Flynn). Photo by: Jeff Thompson Photography

The Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation (ECPSF) hosted its fourth annual Golden Apple Awards banquet on Thursday, April 4at Wild Ridge & Mill Run Golf Course. As in each year past, WEAU’s Bob Gallaher, whose wife and mom are both educators, emceed and hosted the event. Over the winter, WEAU partnered with ECPSF to bring cameras to the schools to surprise honorees with the news of their selection. Bob and his team compiled thefootage to createa touching video for the banquet. 

The evening celebrated one Golden Apple honoree from each of the twenty schools in the Eau Claire Area School District; the honorees were selected by their peers. Each honoree received $500 for classroom use, and each school also received $500 for itsFund for Today, which supports students’ greatest needs. These awards were sponsored by generous business partners in the Chippewa Valley.  

The event is an annual partnership with businesses to celebrate and show appreciation for the exceptional faculty and staff in the Eau Claire Area School District 

Chippewa Valley Montessori Charter School honorsBetsy LindholmAssociate II 

            Sponsored by Mayo Clinic Health System 

DeLong Middle School honorsDustin HayesSpecial Education Teacher 

            Sponsored by C&M Homebuilders and Real Estate 

Flynn Elementary School honorsHeidi HebertTitle I Resource Teacher 

            Sponsored by Marshfield Clinic & Security Health Plan 

Lakeshore Elementary School honorsTricia KwickSpecial Education Aide 

            Sponsored by Sylvan Learning 

Locust Lane Elementary School honorsMichelle RichardsGeneral School Assistant 

            Sponsored by UWEC College of Education and Human Sciences 

Longfellow Elementary School honorsMeg NordLibrary Media Specialist 

            Sponsored by Kristo Orthodontic Specialists 

Manz Elementary School honorsSusan Pisani3rd Grade Teacher 

            Sponsored by Indianhead Foodservice Distributor 

Meadowview Elementary School honors Brad Chapman, Physical Education Teacher 

            Sponsored by Student Transit 

Memorial High School honorsPatty ZwiefelhoferMathematics Teacher 

            Sponsored by McDonald’s Courtesy Corporation 

McKinley Charter School honorsNevada Franz, Competency Component Teacher 

            Sponsored by Xcel Energy 

North High School honorsPaulette SampsonLiteracy Coach and Reading Specialist 

            Sponsored by Royal Credit Union 

Northstar Middle School honorsLynn ChristiansonAdministrative Assistant 

            Sponsored by Wipfli 

Northwoods Elementary School honorsHeather Bauer3rd Grade Teacher 

            Sponsored by McDonough Manufacturing Co. 

Prairie Ridge Early Learning Center honorsNicole SalterEarly Childhood Teacher 

            Sponsored by Trust Point, Inc.  

Putnam Heights Elementary School honorsLindsey AndersonSpecial Education Teacher 

            Sponsored by Marshfield Clinic & Security Health Plan 

Robbins Elementary School honorsLisa PomazalSpecial Education Teacher 

            Sponsored by Ken Vance Motors 

Roosevelt Elementary School honorsJeannie Miller3rd Grade Teacher 

            Sponsored by Charter Bank 

Sam Davey Elementary School honorsRachel Schank2nd Grade Teacher 

            Sponsored by Marine Credit Union 

Sherman Elementary School honorsJulie Becker2nd Grade Teacher 

            Sponsored by Market & Johnson 

South Middle School honorsJohna SternArt Teacher 

            Sponsored by Northwestern Bank 


Picture 1 of 30

Our generous Golden Apple sponsors

Many thanks to Bob Gallaher and WEAU for their dedication, time, coverage and service to this great cause; to Sacred Heart Hospital for its gift of design and print services; to Infinity Beverages Winery & Distillery for its gift of wine for the banquet dinner; and to the Eau Claire Area School District for its loyal support of the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, and its support of the district faculty and staff!  

Save the date for the 2020 Golden Apple Awards: Thursday, April 16, 2020. 

For more information about the Golden Apple Awards or to make a gift to the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, contact Executive Director Sarah French atsfrench1@ecasd.usor (715) 852-3015.