Announcing 2020 recipient for J Murphy STEM Scholarship

Morgan Priem

Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation (ECPSF) announces the award of the 2020 J Murphy STEM Scholarship to Morgan Priem, a Memorial High School senior.

The scholarship was established with ECPSF in 2016 by an anonymous donor with family roots in the community and a passion for helping students pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, or math (STEM). Each spring, one graduating Eau Claire Area School District senior is selected to receive the $10,000 scholarship to apply toward college tuition and fees. Additionally, the scholarship is renewable for up to three additional years, for a possible total of $40,000 per recipient.

Priem will begin her studies in biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse this fall. Working toward a career in medical research, she is overjoyed to be selected for this scholarship, especially amidst a global pandemic. “This scholarship will allow me to pursue my passion for the sciences and achieve my academic and career goals,” Priem said. “I am grateful for the Foundation’s decision to invest in my education, as it will allow me to invest in the lives of others through research and the development of safer and more effective medical treatments.”

Priem was one of several remarkable candidates who applied for the scholarship and came highly recommended. “Morgan has proven time and time again that she has superior critical thinking and problem-solving skills, which will be essential to her post-secondary studies and future career in biomedical research,” said Niki Anderson, Memorial High School biology and AP biology teacher. “Awarding Morgan this scholarship is helping to cultivate an outstanding biomedical engineer who will do great things to transform our future!”


Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation is a supporting organization of the Eau Claire Community Foundation, which serves as a bridge connecting donors with charities in order to improve quality of life in the Eau Claire area. As a non-profit 501(c)(3), the ECPSF is dedicated to promoting value-added learning opportunities for students in the Eau Claire Area School District. To learn more about scholarships at Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, or to open your own scholarship fund, please contact Executive Director Sarah French at or (715) 852-3015.